Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Clean and satisfying tomato and cucumber salad inspired by the farmers market, with fresh basil, lemon juice, olives and sea salt.

Spring Farmers Market-Inspired Chopped Salad via Tsiporah Blog

Spring is here! I love simple chopped salads like this when the weather starts to warm up and my body craves cool, clean foods. This is my favorite type of meal to make when I get home from the farmers market and I have a bag full of fresh, crisp produce just begging to be eaten. This little salad is light, nourishing and clean.

This past week a sweet woman at the farmers market gave me two whole bunches of these gorgeous orange and yellow flowers with edible petals. What a luxury! I added them to this salad for a pop of beauty – if those tomatoes weren’t beautiful enough.

Farmers Market Tomato Salad via Tsiporah Blog

Lately I’ve especially appreciated simple, healthy meals to nourish my body and my mind. I value my quiet moments in the kitchen when I get to prepare beautiful foods, or when I have the honor of creating a meal for someone I love. Cooking is my meditation. My joy. I’ve been bursting with creative energy and I’m grateful for easy and fresh salads like this one.

Market Inspired Spring Tomato Salad

One of my favorite parts about Spring is the energy of renewal. If you don’t feel it inside, you can certainly feel it in the air, see it in the greenery, and witness it in the abundance that’s overflowing at the farmers market. I’m excited because I have a thriving mini container garden this year! I’m growing sweet bell peppers, mint, yams, potatoes, onions, thai basil, thyme, rosemary and a few pretty flowers. I’m excited to see what, if any, produce I get this year! I’ll keep you all updated 🙂

For now, enjoy this Spring Market Chopped Salad.

Spring Market Chopped Salad

Ingredients

1 cup quartered cherry tomatoes
2 chopped persian cucumbers
1 tbsp chopped red onion
1/4 cup quartered castelvetrano olives
4 slivered fresh basil or thai basil leaves
Juice of 1/2 lemon
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper, to taste
Optional: pinch of dried chili flakes or minced fresh chilies, to taste

Directions

Combine quartered cherry tomatoes, persian cucumber, red onion, castelvetrano olives and basil in a bowl. Toss to combine. Squeeze lemon juice over the salad, add olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Taste for seasoning and enjoy! You can eat this salad as is, spoon it atop crisp-tender butter lettuce (my favorite!), or have it as a side along with fresh grilled fish.

Spring Chopped Salad

What’s your favorite Spring recipe? Share in the comments, I’d love to know!

MORE TSIPORAH BLOG:

Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest | Twitter

***